News and Events

LPU L and LPU SC Celebration

May 5, 2021
20th Foundation Celebration, Activity, CITHM Updates, Latest News

– –

, – .
The event is in line with Lyceum of the Philippines University-Laguna’s 20th Founding Anniversary.
The University Chancellor, Dr. Raymund P. Arcega, commenced the event by sharing his message about excellence as an attitude. He congratulated all the awardees as they reached the finish line after many months and years of engaging to become outstanding students and organizations. He also expressed good luck to everyone for the challenges ahead of them and the need to strive for more.
“You are not just an ordinary Laurelian. With the awards you will be receiving today, the entire management and student body of LPU-Laguna is recognizing your significant and invaluable contributions to the development of the university and the students as well,” Dr. Arcega said.
Ms. Kimry Gonzales, Officer-In-Charge for Research Publication and Intellectual Property introduced the keynote speaker of the event, Engr. Glenn Christopher Lambino. He was an LPU-L graduate of BS Civil Engineer who formerly served as the President of the Lyceum Supreme Student Council (LSSC) and a Regional Awardee of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines.
Engr. Lambino recounted his story of having a simple and happy life as a probinsyano from Tarlac and how he eventually became an independent person since grade school. With challenges at his early age, this never hindered him but pushed him more to strive for excellence through joining extracurricular activities. He believed that wasting his life is not his option and that he was led by his faith to LPU-Laguna to pursue his course. He joined LSSC which helped him became one of the scholars of the Yazaki Manufacturing, Inc.
“Always be grateful to other people. You are not here today without your support system, may it be your family, your mentors, your friends. Your award is a collaborative effort of your team,” Engr. Lambino affirmed as he thanked the group of student leaders who left a legacy in his life.
As the event marked another milestone for students, educators, and the university who have worked hard and left legacies inside and outside of the school, LPU-Laguna presented the awardees starting with the presentation of the special awards, as follows:
· Dancers of the Year
Marvyle Balino, CBA
Mari Kristiana Marco, CBA
· Singers of the Year
Monica Diestro, COECS
Charles Montano, COECS
· Actors of the Year
Kayle Franchesca Belarmino, CAS
Ronnie Zuasola, CAS
· Athletes of the Year
Reneil Roxas, COECS
Camille Joyce Dela Peña, CBA
· College of Arts and Sciences (CAS)
“Morphological Characterization of Various Nile Tilapia (Oreochromis Niloticus) in Lake Waters”
BS in Biology
Carlos Caesar Caday
Ariel Luis Daga
Ronnel Zuasola
· College of Business and Accountancy (CBA)
“The Acceptance of Blackboard open LMS: The Case of LPU-Laguna an Empirical Study Based on Unified Theory of Acceptance and Use of Technology (UTAUT)”
BSBA Major in Marketing Management
Julliah Capucino
Regina Lim
· College of International Tourism and Hospitality Management (CITHM)
“Effects of Hospitality Development to the Community of Sta. Rosa, Laguna: Inputs to Sustainable Tourism Development Plan”
BS in International Travel and Tourism Management
King Joshua Antiporda
· College of Engineering and Computer Studies
“Work Related Musculoskeletal Disorder in Sorting Process Area at Mariwasa Siam Ceramics Inc.: An Assessment”
BS in Industrial Engineering
Cake Arsenio
Harvey Maigue
Angel Borja
Patrick Garcia
· College of Allied Medicine
“Level of Awareness, Attitude and Practice towards Leptospirosis Among the Riverside Residents of Barangay Parian, Calamba City”
BS in Medical Laboratory Science
Michael Vincent Algozo
Aliah Audrey Abiera
Jannel Averion
Krizel Ann Lirio
Andrea Louise Manalo
Eufila Gerdaleen B. Legaspi, COECS
After presenting the special awards, LPU Idol 2019, Trisha Maligalig performed her own rendition of The Beatles’ Yesterday following the presentation of major awards, as follows:
Rank 1
Communicator’s Society (COMMSOC), CAS
Rank 2
Lyceum of the Philippines Industrial Engineering Society (LPIES), COECS
Rank 3
League of Tourism Students-Laguna Chapter (LTS), CITHM
Rank 4
League of Warriors (LEWA), CITHM
Rank 5
Junior Philippine Institute of Accountants (JPIA), CBA
Rank 1
College of International Tourism and Hospitality Management (CITHM)
Rank 2
College of Business and Accountancy (CBA)
Rank 3
College of Arts and Sciences (CAS)
• Outstanding Global Leader Award
Joseph Okafor Ikechukwu, COECS
• Outstanding Student for Committed Leadership Award
Russelle Theisha Aquino, CITHM
Outstanding Service Leader Award
• Catherine Kaye B. Almonte, COECS
Outstanding Team Leader Award
• John Limuel Malgapo, COECS
Assistant Vice President for Business Development and Research Generation and Dean of Office of Students Affairs, Mr. Christopher C. Torres ended the event by congratulating all the awardees and sharing an interesting fact about homo sapiens having the highest capacity to cooperate with one another among all human races.
“You would not be who you are here today without those who helped you and most of you had achieved those awards by making each other and making your teammates better,” Mr. Torres then exclaimed.